Monochrome Madness


Seriously, three days in a row I’ve posted about processing my photos into monochrome…I think I need to take a break after this, but I’m really enjoying processing my pictures this way and I hope you do too! As usual, feedback is highly appreciated. This first picture is of the Ocean City boardwalk in New Jersey. Ocean City, New Jersey is a family-friendly resort town that I grew up going to all the time with my family. I’ve made a lot of great memories here and I’ll be going back in May!

The boardwalk in Ocean City, NJ (2009)
The boardwalk in Ocean City, NJ (2009)

This next picture I plan on submitting for Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness (Week 7).  This is a picture of some of the opened cherry blossoms from my trip to DC on Saturday. I really like the contrast that I was able to get with this black and white affect (and yes, this was in one of my earlier posts this week).

Cherry Blossoms in Washington, DC. (2014)
Cherry Blossoms in Washington, DC. (2014)

The rest of these pictures are at least two years old. The beach sunrise pictures are from Ocean City in 2009 and the bench and pencil are from my time in Delaware in 2011. I hope to do some more of this processing after school is over, but for now, I hope to tone it down a bit (or tone it up? bad pun).

Also, very exciting, I just ordered a new camera. No, it’s not a DSLR, nor is it a point-and-shoot, it’s a mirror-less interchangeable lens camera! The Nikon 1 J1 with 10-30mm VR lens. I’m really excited to play with this when it comes in early next week and I can’t wait to share with you all!

13 thoughts on “Monochrome Madness”

  1. I find myself working many of my photos in monochrome. Your photo of the cherry blossoms is fascinating. I hope that I get the chance to visit DC during the blooming season some time.

    1. Thank you! I hope to be able to go back to DC too and closer to peak for the cherry blossoms. With school and everything, April 5th was really my only chance to go. I can’t wait to go again!

  2. That boardwalk picture looks like it could not have been anything else but monchrom, even in full color. It’s very evocative! I’m interested to hear (and see) what you have to say about the 1J1.

Leave a Reply

