Monochrome Monday: Week 1


After being inspired by the growing weekly challenge called “Monochrome Madness” started by Leanne Cole and Laura Macky, I’ve decided to create my own post on Mondays showing my contribution to the upcoming Monochrome Madness post as well as my favorite(s) from last week’s Monochrome Madness.

My favorite from last week’s post is Laura Macky’s submission. I love macro photography and I love taking pictures of flowers as well so this one caught my eye (it also helped that it is featured larger on the post, but wasn’t why I chose it). I’m curious as to what color the flower originally was, but I like how Laura chose to not do straight black-and-white but to give it a somewhat sepia tone.

flower-web1

A close runner-up to Laura’s post for me was from Ryan Photography. Once again, I liked the macro of the flower and I love the dew (presumably) that is sitting on the petals. Another beautiful picture.

img_2263-cr2

My contribution for this week I took with my new Nikon 1 J1. I was excited to try out it’s macro capabilities and really liked this picture of a Dogwood tree I took outside of my dorm on a rainy day. I hope you enjoy it as well!

A dogwood tree on a rainy day.
A dogwood tree on a rainy day.

Here are some of my other monochrome photos that I’ve worked on in the last week as well, featured in their original form within this post.

5 thoughts on “Monochrome Monday: Week 1”

Leave a Reply

