iPhone Photo of the Week (Week 7)


This past week has been a little crazy for me. Today is the last day of class and I worked a game for the last time this semester on Sunday. Friday (4/25) greeted us with rain, but the rain subsided in time for the 7pm baseball game. Because of the clouds, I knew there would be a good opportunity for a picture during the game so I patiently waited by the patio at the stadium waiting for the opportunity to arrive. 

While my best shot came about half an hour before sunset, I was really happy with the way the sun was shining through the clouds and the HDR feature on my iPhone managed to do a really good job capturing the moment. I did enhance the picture a bit to get a greater contrast and exaggerated even more so using Instagram when I posted it there. I really like this picture because of the sun of course, but also because of the people you’re able to see in the foreground enjoying the game.

The enhanced HDR photo (enhancement done on phone).
The enhanced HDR photo (enhancement done on phone).

And I really liked the way it came out for Instagram. It even got reposted by the athletic department’s official Instagram account.

The Instagram version of the photo.
The Instagram version of the photo.

I tried to take some pictures with my Nikon 1 as well, but I wasn’t able to get the exposure just right to be able to get the same effect as my phone did. You can see those attempts below as well as the non-HDR version of my phone’s picture.

Leave a Reply

