iPhone Photo of the Week (Week 8)


It has been a while since I’ve posted and that is because of finals week at college. Needless to say, I’ve successfully concluded my sophomore year of college and am happy to be back home in Pittsburgh. On Saturday, my family is going to Ocean City, New Jersey and I am very excited to get some pictures at the beach and of the sun rising over the ocean.

Now to business, this week’s iPhone photo of the week comes from last Wednesday. That day (April 30th) at my school is called Reading Day and gives us a day between classes and finals to either take a break or actually study for our finals. It was foggy that day and while I was walking over to my friend’s dorm I decided to take a picture of it because I liked the way the fog covered the mountain behind it. This definitely isn’t one of my best photos of the week, but for this week, I thought it was pretty good.

2014-04-30 14.12.47

Also, an exciting event happened in downtown Lynchburg (the town where my school is) the same day that made national news.

A train carrying crude oil through downtown along the James River derailed when the ground under the track by the river collapsed causing 3 cars to roll into the river and more than a dozen others to derail and two or three exploded. Thankfully, no one was hurt in the derailment, but it also stirred up the politics surrounding the safety of crude oil trains and how the proposed Keystone Pipeline could make crude oil transportation much safer so trains carrying volatile crude oil no longer have to go through populated areas. That’s enough of my view of it. Here are links to articles on the incident from the Wall Street Journal and Lynchburg’s local paper, News and Advance. Also, here are a few pictures I took with my phone a few hours after the derailment. The fire burned out relatively quickly.

Leave a Reply

