Monochrome Monday: Week 3


Week 10 of Monochrome Madness was another amazing showcase of lots of awesome work done by so many people around the world. It really is cool to be able to participate in such a unique collaboration on a weekly basis.

My favorite picture this week was submitted by photographybykent. I’ve actually visited their blog multiple times in the past and even got a little bit of advice on my cherry blossom exploring and enjoyed seeing the progress of the cherry blossoms in Washington, DC. I really like this picture because of the architecture of the bridge, I like pictures taken from this perspective because of how it emphasizes the size of the structure and I also like the use of monochrome on a masonry structure. Thank you for sharing Robin!

brooklyn-bridge-robinskentMy runner-up this week was submitted by Lignum Draco of Etcetra Etcetera Etcetera.  I really like this submission, not just for it’s composition, but because you can see that not all the windows are the same (at least, what is behind them). I like to imagine what’s going on behind those windows and all of the experiences that are occurring behind those glass barriers. Thank you for the submission Lignum.

little-boxes

This week, I took my monochrome madness submission from the photos I captured during my time taking pictures in downtown Lynchburg, Virginia with Ashley. I processed four photos to consider for my submission and I decided, with a little help from Ashley too, that this one of the fire escape seemed like the right choice:

DSC_1506

I like how the natural light in the picture created a little bit of a vignette when I changed the picture to monochrome and I feel like this subject just seemed good for black and white. Thanks again Leanne for being the curator for Monochrome Madness. It really is a treat!

Here are the other three pictures I processed from the other day. Their originals can be found in my post about downtown Lynchburg.

 

Leave a Reply

